House of Male

19 Sirimangklajarn Road Soi 3 (last house on the left), Chiang Mai, Thailand | map | directions

10% Discount
audience rating: House of Male, 3.7 out of 5 based on 43 ratings click to vote:
GD Star Rating
loading...

CLICK HERE FOR Free Entry on Your Birthday

CLICK HERE FOR 10% Discount Off Entry Fee (exclusive)

Chiang Mai’s popular gay sauna and a great place to meet local guys. The traditional Thai Lanna-styled House of Male features a gym, steam room, a large pool and sun terrace with loungers.

The onsite bar & lounge on the ground floor serves light meals. Upstairs is a darkened cruising area with private cabins. Located near the Central Department Store in downtown. Busy on Thursday nights and the weekends.

weekday: 12:00 - 00:00

weekend: 12:00 - 00:00

venue: sauna (桑拿) | features: bar, restaurant, swimming pool, steam room, sauna, sun terrace, gym (酒吧, 餐厅, 游泳池, 蒸汽房, 桑拿, 阳台, 健身房) | customers: gay | attracts: All types

corrections | last updated: 15-09-2017

| facebook | +66 53 894 133 | email this to me

WHAT PEOPLE SAY...

  

WRITE A REVIEW

Value

3.8

Facilities

3.2

Service

3.4

Cleanliness

3.2
based on 20 reviews
  1. K

    “First time went here last month , place was nice and clean. Very friendly front desk guy (he was a hot guy) Not too many people, had few local guys, but I had a great time with them. Definitely I will come back on my next trip.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 13-09-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  2. Visited July 2017 - not bad at all!

    “Hello, I am a guy from Holland who visited House of Male two times in July 2017. I had a pleasant time. The pool seems to be completely renovated. It is nice and clean. The steam room was renovated too. A bit too hot for me, but very steamy and clean.

    There is a gym, showers, free drinking water, two towels, double locks on the lockers, clean toilet and showers. It were about 20 people, mixed in age, some farang. All in all I had a pleasant time and i would definitely go again!“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 31-07-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  3. Great for sitting in the sun

    “Place is run down with broken showers, no paper in the loo...blamed on guests causing damage??? Bartender serves you like it is a burden place nearly empty most of the time, just a few older Westerners and some Thais of varying ages, only plus is taking the sun beside the pool, and you do not need a gay sauna for that.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 19-02-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  4. No more a beautiful place

    “All the trees and shrubs are gone. The beautiful pool area in the garden area is now a sterile place with tall walls. I think the previous owner, Artur, would cry. The most regular guests no longer come. The whole staff was changed. HOM is just a memory. How can you ruin such a place like this?“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 08-02-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  5. DIRTY...

    “I went last week it's dirty very dirty. Staff not friendly and never fo anything. The sauna was before the new owner was a nice place to be - not now.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 06-02-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  6. The good, the bad, and...

    “Late January 2017: I went on a Saturday night after reading the very mixed reviews. First The Good:
    - employees were friendly
    - very near to Nimman area
    - a beautiful teak house
    - it was very inexpensive
    The Bad :
    - all areas appear very well-used & worn out.
    - generally not very clean
    - mold in corners of wet areas
    - mosquitoes
    - flourescent light behind, so harsh light in pool are at night
    - lots of steps, cracks, and other hazards, so if you're not familiar, it's an accident waiting to happen
    - all guests were 40+ and mostly very big-sized guys (this might be an asset for some!)

    If you have the Babylon or Otot Otot image of gay sauna, this sure is a whole different (and grim) scene. I would go back if it is gutted and up-dated.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 22-01-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  7. Very quiet...

    “I went there for the cruising area. The building is nice (traditional wooden house) but on weekday at least (Monday 8-10pm) almost nothing happened... Everyone was staring at each other and no one seems to dare to do something. And when something seems to happen, guys make sure they lock and double lock the door of the cabin. A big issue is that there are no condoms nor lube... In 2017 when STDs are such a problem especially among gays, that's not really acceptable. Crowd is mostly local guys, mid-aged.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 03-01-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  8. Previous owner passed away last year.

    “Arthur passed away last year, so no chance of a chat! Since then there have been mixed reviews, but no way to find out what it costs!“

      on 03-01-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  9. Dirty ...a nightmare

    “Absolutely dirty, it's a shame for all gay sauna in Asia. Go to Babylon in Bangkok“

      on 02-01-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  10. very nice place

    “Mainly locals. Nice and friendly“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 22-11-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

  11. First time

    “Hi.....coming most likely to Chiang Mai this year on vacation. Seems HOM is a friendly place for a shy straight to visit as first time to gay bath house. Should I go? Wouldn't mind some suggestion were to go and what to do....“

      on 06-03-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • “We think you will find House Of Male a very friendly place. Have a chat with Arthur, the owner/manager - we are sure he will be able to answer any questions you might have.“

        on 09-03-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

      • A new swiming pool ??????

        “I planed to spend whole August 2016 in Chiangmai, swimming everyday at House of Male. I was very disappointed to find the swimming pool out of order. I'll come from December 15 to 30. Will the swimming pool be working again at this date? Thank you for a prompt reply!“

          on 25-11-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

        • Swimming pool - yes, it is working

          “I have been to HOM on 1/12/2016, the pool was opening... I didn't have my swimming suit... When there was lack of people, I swam in nude... haha...“

          Value
          Facilities
          Service
          Cleanliness

            on 06-12-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

  12. No strings

    “Great place. But would love to wear my string and discard my towel,

    Patrons wear their towels at all times except for the odd one in briefs.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 20-01-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

  13. Avis sur House of Male

    “J'y suis allé aujourd'hui (le 9 mars 2015). Le tarif d'entrée est 130 bth (4 euros). L'ambiance est calme et zen. En revanche, le point négatif: pas de disponibilité du gel et du préservatif.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 09-03-2015 | Reply Problem with this review?

  14. Favourite sauna

    “As someone who has visited Chiang Mai off and on for many years, I have to say that House of Male is my favourite sauna in Asia. The staff are most welcoming and the general environment is very relaxing, particularly around the pool. Prices are very reasonable and there is usually a very nice mix of people. Overall, very enjoyable experience and recommended for first time visitor to the city.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 05-12-2014 | Reply Problem with this review?

  15. Irreplaceable . . .

    “As a long-term Chiang Mai resident of 12 years, while HoM, just like any other commercial operation, has its faults, for sheer consistency, reliability, relaxation it is unmatched. I am at the sauna daily, in the afternoons for a swim a brief workout at the gym, in the evenings/nights to cruise, lounge with a drink by the pool, gaze at the stars, see people I know, chat with the staff.
    The sauna has been in operation for 17 years now. The pool is a decent size, totally surrounded by bamboo and coconut trees, flowers, plants, shrubbery with recliners and tables and chairs.
    The staff are always friendly and do not distinguish between Thais and non-Thais. Their drink prices are eminently fair and so is their admission. In the 17 years that I personally have been coming to House of Male, as far as memory recalls, there have been just two changes in admission prices and about three changes in the price of drinks, both alcoholic and non, and packaged snacks like peanuts, etc.
    I used to write about Chiang Mai for three Thai gay websites and have always tried to be objective. Yes, there could be improvements. The sauna needs to add a staff person.
    HoM used to have pillows, tissues etc in each private room but, sad to say, some customers were very careless and abusive.
    In my opinion, for at least sheer consistency and atmosphere, this sauna is unsurpassed.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 13-05-2014 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Police raid

      “HOM survived the police raid last Sunday. Drug testing on customers was negative, unlike the testing on Hijack in Bangkok. Press reports in Khaosod English. Hope this does not lead to closures.“

        on 23-10-2014 | Reply Problem with this review?

      • Police Raid ?????????

        “HOM was not raided by the police on October 19, and our customers have never been checked for drugs, by the police or anyone else. I don't know where Greg obtained this information.“

          on 27-11-2014 | Reply Problem with this review?

  16. worth a visit

    “House of male is a great place. Friendly atmosphère. Space-full relaxing place. Large swimming pool. Clean. Wish all saunas would be as nice as this one.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 05-04-2014 | Reply Problem with this review?

  17. Highly recommended to all gay visitors to Chiang Mai

    “On my first visit to House of Male, I was first impressed by the entrance to the Thai teak mansion and its tropical gardens, next by the friendly welcome I received from the cashier when I paid the entry fee of 130 Baht (less than US$4). After that, there was the large swimming pool, surrounded by lush tropical growth, a wooden sala overlooking the pool (an open pavilion) and then upstairs, a large balcony with tables and chairs, another sala and a television room. In addition to these facilities, there is a steam sauna, plenty of cruising areas and very friendly staff at your service. Obviously, many of the customers at House of Male are Thai and many are only attracted to other Thai's. But there are enough Thai's who also enjoy the company of foreigners to make a visit very enjoyable. Highly recommended by a now regular visitor!!“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 13-02-2014 | Reply Problem with this review?

  18. Chris

    “Great place. Really nice Lanna style set up with nice gardens and places to relax. Was a bit cold (but Chiang Mai is the coldest right now than its been for many years).
    Gym is ok. I had no problems with staff and the TV? Many hot locals during my visit (Sunday evening). Will definitely visit again!“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 29-12-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  19. Great Expectations Dashed with regular attendance !

    “First impressions were great but after several attendances at House of Male this is sadly what we found.

    1. Staff friendliness inconsistent and random, can be stand offish, and non engaging if not a Thai.
    2. Staff often lazy monopolizing TV and other paid customers facilities.
    3. Cleanness much to be desired, used items rarely cleaned up. Also witnessed staff taking used plastic drinking cups from trash bin and sticking them back in the clean cup container.
    4. Sadly, local are often treated much better than visitors and loyalties are such that foreigners are laughed and spoken about rudely in Thai by locals.
    5. Freezing facility. No warm area but the wet steam room which exasperates the cold when back in the cold.
    6. 'Gym' is old and very warn out. Can be crowded and unsafe.
    7. The policy of 10 attendances them one gets a free pass entry is not displayed or discussed with visitors. Make sure you ask for a card and get it stamped each time you attend to get that free entry pass.
    8. Can't believe how many staff and yet one monopolizes the only TV for paying visitors laying in front of it watching Thai TV ... and rude.

    Many say when returning after a while away that the facility has drastically gone down hill. All we can say is that after a few months of regular attendances we have seen the lack of hygiene and staff engaging politely with non locals very rare indeed.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 21-12-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  20. Response to earlier review

    “Management response. "The posting about House of Male by Tommy (Quite like Babylon) is misleading. On the night in question, we had 144 customers.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 13-09-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  21. Quite like Babylon (surrounding) + Mania (crowd)

    “Visited on Thursday because of the buy 1 get 1 free evening. Around 15~25 people there in the evening. Mostly local Thai but the quality of crowd is about same as Mania in Bangkok. Has a pool, gym, steam room, restaurant but everything smaller than Babylon. Interesting part is the Lanna style rooms located on the 2nd floor, very Chiangmai style.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 20-08-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  22. “Now, the entry fee for both Thai people and foreigners is the same. Apart from going on Tuesday & Thursday, which are buddy nights, you can try going during weekend and meet more local guys.“

    Value
    Facilities
    Service
    Cleanliness

      on 18-03-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  23. “My favourite place to relax in Chiang Mai. Refreshments at very reasonable prices, lovely relaxing swimming pool, great sauna and steam room with handsome polite staff ready to assist you with your every wish.“

      on 11-03-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  24. “Relaxing, clean, friendly, a great place to spend an enjoyable afternoon or evening. I can highly recommend it. Try Tuesday or Thursday evenings.“

      on 11-03-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

  25. “I have been traveling to Chiang Mai 2 or 3 times a year for about 10 years and always visit the House of Male. It is so relaxing and refreshing. I have made many friends there and if you like handsome Thai men then it is a great place to meet them. The staff are friendly and very attentive to the customers needs. It is very clean and tidy.

    HOM is my favourite place in Chiang Mai. Colin“

      on 06-10-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  26. “A delightful, fun resort in the middle of this beautiful city with a terrific staff!“

      on 05-10-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  27. “I always visit House Of Male on my trips to Chiang Mai. It's so relaxing in the garden and the traditional setting.“

      on 05-10-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  28. “Heaven on Earth. Perfect and the staff is wonderful.“

      on 03-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  29. “House of Mail, HOM for short, I have meet many nice and interesting people there Tuesdays and Thursdays are the best evenings especially if you like Uni Students. Clean and attractive place Friendly helpful Management and staff. Peter“

      on 02-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  30. “This place just made my Holiday in Chiangmai
    Clean friendly and a happy place to visit every day“

      on 02-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  31. “A relaxing place.. No pressures, no demands, nothing but peaceful fun and enjoyment.
    I highly recommend it to all gay visitors to Chiang Mai.“

      on 01-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  32. “A great place to relax and enjoy a refreshing drink amongst delightful, traditional surroundings.. and make friends! Always my first stop in Chiang Mai!“

      on 01-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  33. “One of the best gay saunas in Thailand. Intimate, clean, refreshing, a nicely run establishment with very friendly and courteous staff and always a lovely clientele“

      on 01-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

  34. “One of the best, most relaxing establishments I have had the pleasure of visiting. Attentive staff, great location and everything you could want“

      on 01-06-2012 | Reply Problem with this review?

Reviews are the subjective opinion of a Travel Gay Asia user, not of Travel Gay Asia.

Write a review about House of Male

Your experience can really help other gay travellers.

Value
Facilities
Service
Cleanliness

Your surname and email address will not be published.
We do not share your personal information with anyone else.
We check every review before publication.
You can read our moderation and picture policy here.
Please enter your email address carefully. We may send you a verification request.