Tantric Bar, Singapore - gay bar - Travel Gay Asia

+ WIN $200 HOTEL SPEND
sign up for news and promotions

Tantric Bar

78 Neil Road, Singapore, , 088841 | map

Tantric Bar
Tantric Bar
Tantric Bar
Tantric Bar
Tantric Bar
Tantric Bar
audience rating: Tantric Bar, 3.4 out of 5 based on 142 ratings click to vote:
Rating: 3.4/5. From 142 votes.
Please wait...

The most popular gay bar in Singapore. Tantric gets very busy on Friday and Saturday nights with party boys who down a few cocktails before heading to Taboo.

The great combination of sights, sounds and reasonably-priced drinks (e.g. double-shot house pour for SGD10/glass) makes the open-air courtyard and indoor bar a great place to start your night out.

weekday: 20:00 - 03:00

weekend: 20:00 - 04:00 / 03:00

venue: bar (酒吧) | features: bar, music (酒吧, 音乐) | customers: gay | attracts: All types

| website | facebook | +65 6423 9232 | email this to me | corrections | add an event
last updated: 12-06-2018

ADD YOUR PHOTOS

USER ADDED PHOTOS

Upload your photos

By uploading, you grant us a license to use the photos.
Photos are reviewed before other people can see them.

WHAT PEOPLE SAY...

  

WRITE A REVIEW

Value

3.3

Facilities

3.7

Service

3.1

Cleanliness

4.1
based on 9 reviews
  1. Great Bar

    “Great bar with very decently priced drinks. The cute guy and blonde girl who served me inside the bar were lovely. You get to meet a lot of people here which is great! Will be back again soon.“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 18-07-2018 | Reply Problem with this review?

  2. Why bother?

    “Place is alright but the bouncer is a real piece of work. I go to a bar to have fun not because I want a bouncer to start yelling at the customers. So many other places with more zazazu....why bother with this one?“

      on 21-04-2018 | Reply Problem with this review?

  3. best gay bar

    “Best gay bar in Singapore!!!!!! lovely crowds on Friday and Saturday and cheap (by Singapore standards) drinks!!!!!“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 09-12-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Give Grindr A Break, Come Tantric Bar

      “Thank you Alan for the exciting review! We hope to serve you again very soon! Have a best new year ahead.“

        on 13-12-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  4. Great place

    “Honestly I have no clue why there are so many negative reviews. Went here alone and the atmosphere is excellent to meet new people, staff is very nice, had a great evening. Drinks are expensive but that’s just Singapore being Singapore“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 03-12-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Appreciation

      “This is very special Thank You note to you Mr G! Tantric Bar often does not get the credit that we deserve but we do stick around to provide the best experience for the supporters all these years. Hope you have a great holiday season coming, and all the best to you! See you very soon!“

        on 04-12-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  5. Still the best gay bar in Singapore

    “After reading all the negative review I was cautious whether to go to Tantric Bar. I went there just to see how bad it is. But it turned out to be one of my best gay bar experiences. I asked the cashier or the person in charge why all the bad reviews, he just laughed it off saying, could be all fake reviews due to jealousy. I'll definitely go back to Tantric Bar during my next visit!“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 27-11-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  6. Give the widest berth possible

    “I visited Tantric Bar last Saturday. The staff were exceptionally rude and the Manager was totally over the top. Spend your money elsewhere.“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 06-10-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Spend your money on Gay Street in SG, Neil Road

      “Hi Peter, thank you for dropping by our bar, could you please disclose the names of staff that were rude to you, we do not take bad performance lightly. And I'm the manager Alfred here, how was I rude to you? Please reply to us with your email and phone number I would like to understand more of the situation.“

        on 28-11-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  7. Unprofessional staff

    “We came in early and we were seated in the table by the male staff. While waiting for our 2nd round of drinks, the female staff asked us to leave the table saying that the table was reserved. When I asked what were we going to do with the 2nd drink if we were to leave, she rudely told us that we could finish the drink in some areas of the bar. Very unprofessional!“

      on 07-04-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  8. Arrogant staff

    “Nicely decorated bar but that is it. The waiter is so arrogant and unfriendly that we decided we would go somewhere else after having just one drink.
    I now totally agree with all other negative reviews, the waiters ruining the vibe. What a shame: worst experience in Singapore.“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 27-11-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Support Gay Street of SG, Neil Road

      “Hi I'm the manager of Tantric Bar. Please tell me more of your bad experience as we do not take bad service staff lightly, we have severe punishment for poor performers. Kindly email to tantric_bar@yahoo.com and provide us your phone number I'll personally call you to understand more of the situation. Thank you.“

        on 28-11-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  9. Nice and cozy place

    “This place is nice and doesn't look like a gay bar to me (that's a plus point actually). First time i went here with my friend and I saw a few group of mix guy and girl. I didn't know it is a gay bar until my friend told me. The only thing I don't like is the smoking area. I move from sofa to outside sitting area and when I want to smoke, they said that I cant smoke on the table outside. Cmon, its an open area also. You told your guest to smoke near the entrance? Whats the difference?“

      on 04-08-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

  10. Tourist trap

    “Just left after very obnoxious staff and very poor quality drinks.
    Avoid unless you are interested in going to a gay tourists trap!“

      on 28-04-2016 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Tantric Bar(13 years) - NOT a tourist trap.

      “I'm sorry to hear you had bad experience in our bar please come back I'll make it up to you. There are many wonderful bars in Singapore. We have Tantric Bar, Backstage Bar, Out Bar, DYMK, Epiphyte, eBar, Lluvia and Dorothy's. And we have Taboo Club if you like dancing and a wild night out. Please come back soon. Email to tantric_bar@yahoo.com“

        on 28-11-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  11. Don't Bother!

    “As a visitor to SG this was my worst experience! When I arrived the staff were too busy talking and eating to bother with customers!
    Asked for a coke, was told it was $10, which I gave to the waiter, and was given a glass full of ice topped-up with coke. When I asked for the rest of the unused can, I was told they only sell it by the glass..... for $6!!!! So I then asked where was my change, and why did the waiter ask for $10??? This place is awful and has NO idea of service! Will never go again!“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 15-07-2015 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Management Reply

      “Hi Jonty. We are sorry that you had a bad experience in our bar, please email us at tantric_bar@yahoo.com with your details and we promise we will make it up for you. We always strive to be better, thank you for your support.“

        on 24-08-2015 | Reply Problem with this review?

  12. Capacity?

    “I would be interested to see how many people Tantric is licened to hold and how many they actually pack in there on a Frday & Saturday night. I will go to Tantric but rarely on a Friday @ Saturday more for safety reasons.“

      on 20-05-2015 | Reply Problem with this review?

    • Not Overcrowding at ALL

      “Hi Anonymous,

      We have 16 years in business by Backstage Bar and Tantric Bar of 13 years. Singapore government is very strict on overcrowding bars and clubs. You have no reason to worry about your safety in our vastness of bars as we span across 3 units along Neil Road. Why are you worried for capacity something so specific, are you a new player that leaves fake reviews?“

        on 28-11-2017 | Reply Problem with this review?

  13. Crowded

    “Very crowded on Saturday night, but had a great night out with friends. Reasonably priced drinks and we friendly enough staff, although it was a constant struggle to get to the bar. But there again, who want to go to a half empty bar?“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 24-04-2015 | Reply Problem with this review?

  14. Frequented by foreigners

    “Tantric Bar is one of the favourite among foreigners. On Fridays and Saturdays, more than half of the clientele are foreigners. Be there early if you are going on Friday or Saturday as the place can get real crowded.“

    value
    facilities
    service
    cleanliness

      on 22-11-2013 | Reply Problem with this review?

Reviews are the subjective opinion of a Travel Gay Asia user, not of Travel Gay Asia.

Write a review about Tantric Bar

Your experience can really help other gay travellers.

Your surname & email address will NOT be published.
You will NOT be added to our mailing list.
Please enter your email address carefully - we may send a verification request.
We will NOT share your personal information with anyone.
We check every review before publication.
You can read our moderation and picture policy here.